Skip to main content

Who will be the ultimate Blue Water Champion?

Royal Akarana Yacht Club, Tauranga Yacht & Powerboat Club, and the New Zealand Multihull Yacht Club join forces for the ultimate New Zealand Blue Water Championship.

The PIC Coastal Classic, Akarana 350, Auckland Tauranga (A2T), and Yates Cup are the four races that will make up the 2022/2023 edition of the Blue Water Championships, set to kick off on Friday 21 October.

Entry is free for any yacht or multihull that wants to take part!Totalling 824 nautical miles, the four-race series will determine which boat and crew are crowned the Blue Water Champions – bringing to the forefront that Kiwi offshore sailors are some of the best in the world. While four races are scheduled, three will count towards the overall result, with the winning crew claiming the Ran Tan II Memorial Blue Water Championship trophy, which was donated by Brian Petersen.

The winner will be the crew who have the lowest total points across their three best races of the four scheduled and will be calculated using PHRF as well as a multihull division. So if you’re an enthusiastic long-haul offshore sailor, then this is the series for you!

Boats that have already entered the PIC Coastal Classic just need to complete a free entry form to start being eligible for the Blue Water Championship title.

The clubs involved are fully supportive of this move to encourage and develop offshore keeler and multihull racing and other yacht clubs will be welcomed and encouraged to join in this series with the aim of creating special mana and acclaim for the winner.

Event Details

  • All competitors shall comply with the Notice of Race and Sailing Instructions for each event to be eligible for the Blue Water Championships.
  • Four races are scheduled, and three will count toward the series.
  • A minimum of six entries per division: PHRF / Multihulls
  • The Blue Water Championship trophy will be awarded to the overall winner on PHRF


Full Results Coming Soon


PHRF & Winner of the Ran Tan II Memorial Blue Water Championship Trophy – NZ OCEAN RACING
» Full Results


PHRF & Winner of the Ran Tan II Memorial Blue Water Championship Trophy – MOTORBOAT II
» Full Results