Yates Cup

Home/Yates Cup

The Yates Cup is is a 230 nautical mile race taking the fleet from Orakei, to Channel Island, Cuvier, Great Barrier, Poor Knights and then back to Orakei.

The 2020 race is set to start on Friday 17th July at 1555 for multihulls and 1600 for monohulls.

The 2020 Yates Cup is Race 1 of the Ran Tan II Memorial Blue Water Championship.

In 2017 the race was shortened to 130nm due to a tragic forecast of little to zero wind. Instead the fleet races from Orakei, to Channel Island, Sail Rock, then back to Orakei and the race was given the name, The Yates Cup 2.0.

The race it’s designed as a training race for larger offshore events such as Round White Island, Akarana 350, Three Kings, Auckland Fiji and Auckland Noumea.



Team Vodafone Sailing
Year: 2014
Elapsed Time: 21h 12m 36s


Rio Racing
Year: 2014
Elapsed Time: 21h 36m 14s


All Results


All Results


Multihull – 1st  Team Vodafone Sailing
Finish Time: 7:12:36 | Elapsed Time: 00:21:12:36

Monohull: Line | IRC | PHRF | Shorthanded