Boatspray Sponsors the Gold Cup Series

Home/All News, Gold Cup/Boatspray Sponsors the Gold Cup Series

Boatspray Sponsors the Gold Cup Series

The Gold Cup Series organisers Royal Akarana Yacht Club, is pleased to announce Boatspray Half Moon Bay Marina as the naming sponsor for the 2015/2016 Gold Cup Series.

Now officially known as the Boatspray Gold Cup Series, the event is open to all Category 4 keelboats and multihulls and commences on Saturday 19th September with the Richmond Yacht Club’s Spring Regatta.

Boatspray is a full service boat painting and maintenance business located in the Half Moon Bay Marina. Experienced boaties Simon Manning and Brian Kent oversee the team of painters who are experts in all aspects of boat painting.

They apply all major brands and paint systems. Specialising in full repaints and touch-ups of marine vessel interiors and exteriors, we also offer full project management. Working closely with several complementary businesses at HMB, Boatspray will routinely project manage several different contractors to complete a job and will also participate in your project as a sub contractor as required.

Simon owns the Ross 40 Provincial Cowboy which will be contesting as many of the races as he can manage. He and his crew of mostly Elliott 5.9 sailors are enjoying getting to grips with a bigger boat and looking forward to the Gold Cup racing.   “It’s great to support the series, something we have been keen to participate in for a few years now.”

Brian usually races on V5 and a former stakeholder in the well campaigned Squealer.  He has heaps of experience in local and offshore racing, and cruising, and he is also looking forward to being part of the series this year.  “The Hauraki Gulf is such a great venue for this longer race format – congratulations to RAYC and the other clubs who have put together another top series.  Really pleased we are involved”.

The Boatspray Gold Cup Series consists of five races with the shortest race approximately 30 nautical miles and the largest, the Balokovic Cup, approximately 87 nautical miles.
The series is a combined effort of four major Auckland Clubs. Richmond Yacht Club, Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, Bucklands Beach Yacht Club and Royal Akarana Yacht Club have been working together on the series for over 10 years.

For more information or to enter the series visit

September 11th, 2015|Categories: All News, Gold Cup|

Leave A Comment