2019/2020 Prize Giving – Top Prizes Announced

Home/Club News/2019/2020 Prize Giving – Top Prizes Announced

2019/2020 Prize Giving – Top Prizes Announced

It was a perfect evening at the club for the 2019/2020 Prize Giving upstairs in the main function room at the Hyundai Marine Sports Centre.

The evening kicked off with the junior sailors admiring “Patriot”, American Magic’s second AC75. Watching over their shoulders were RAYC Life Members Peter Burling and Blair Tuke, who talked to the kids about being an America’s Cup sailor.

The evening was short, sharp and sweet with everyone celebrating what was a very disjointed season. Commodore Jason Morgan promised that this season will be much better, provided that COVID-19 didn’t rear its public head again.

Major awards for the junior sailors:

Academy Volunteer of the Year – Jack Clist
Learn to Sail Sailor of the Year – Alice Martin
Junior Sailor of the Year – Morgan Lay
Youth Sailor of the Year – Charley Morton
Female Sailor of the Year – Sophia Morgan
Optimist Green Sailor of the Year – Joseph Thom
Optimist Open Sailor of the Year – Leo Brown
O’Pen Skiff Sailor of the Year – Sam Dold
Feva Sailor of the Year – Oliver Donaldson
Laser Sailor of the Year – Danny Su
Commitment & Dedication – Logan Ross & Louis Quere
Effort & Improvement – Reuben Dempsey, Alice Fitzgerald & Bradley Perry

Major awards for the senior sailors:

Volunteer of the Year – Matt Woodley
Club Sailors of the Year – Murray Gilbert & Jono Burgess
Offshore Sailor of the Year – Will Reid
International Sailors of the Year – Peter Burling & Blair Tuke
Yachtspeople of the Year – Dave McDiarmid, Matt Steven and Brad Collins

Photos: Georgia Schofield – Live Sail Die

October 19th, 2020|Categories: Club News|