12′ Skiffs Line Up for first day of Auckland Championship

Home/12' Skiffs/12′ Skiffs Line Up for first day of Auckland Championship

12′ Skiffs Line Up for first day of Auckland Championship

The Auckland 12′ Skiff fleet, who race out of the Royal Akarana Yacht Club and Auckland Sailing Club, will hit the water on Saturday 27th October for the first day of racing for the annual Auckland Championship regatta.

To date, seven boats are set to race, with those on the starters list saying it’s too close to call the favourite with a light northerly on the forecast for the day.

The 12′ Skiff Auckland Championship will be held over three race days followed by two Interdominion Trial race days for the New Zealand team who will head off to Sydney to compete for the Silasec Trophy from the 4th to the 12th of January 2019, hosted by the Sydney Flying Squadron. In 2018, the 58th Interdominions was hosted by Royal Akarana Yacht Club, with Kiwi sailors Alex Vallings and Andrew Clarke winning the Silasec Trophy and New Zealand winning the teams event beating out Australia.

Auckland fleet captain, James Fleet, said the competition is heating up leading into the championship season.

“Most of us have spent the winter months fine tuning our boats to ensure we are in shipshape for the 2019 Interdominions. We specifically scheduled the Auckland Championship as a lead in to the trials to make sure we had some solid training before packing the boats into the container to send them to Sydney,” said Fleet.

“With the line up, anyone could be in front, so it’s really hard to say who will be at the pointy end of the fleet. I reckon we need to get the first two races under out belt to really know where we all stand after the winter months.”

The first two races of the Auckland Championship will start from approximately 1300 hours. The 12′ Skiffs will complete two harbour courses, similar in length to what they will likely be racing at the Interdominions in January.

Competing Boats

  1. ASKO – Greg Roake & James Fleet
  2. Monkey Wrench – Jono Clough & TBC
  3. Design Source – Paul Macintosh & Ken Fyfe
  4. Mr Scruff – Thomas Olds & Dan Pooley
  5. One & In – Brent Metson & Matt Metson
  6. ASCC – Graeme & Karen Laurie
  7. Frankenskiff – Tim Bartlett & TBC

2018 12′ Skiff Auckland Championship Schedule
Saturday 27th October
Sunday 4th November
Sunday 11th November

12′ Skiff Interdom Team Trials
Sunday 18th November
Sunday 25th November

October 24th, 2018|Categories: 12' Skiffs|

Leave A Comment